R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1/4" Reel to reel Probs..  (Read 3177 times)

typek

1/4" Reel to reel Probs..
« on: December 01, 2008, 03:33:06 PM »

Hey guys,

I recently inherited a Tascam 388 Studio 8. It has a 1/4" open reel to reel built into it. I am an audio student, but as I am sure most of you know they have not taught us all that much about tape machines at school.
When I load my reel on, thread it to the take-up reel, the "play" function doesn't work. Rewind and FF works fine.. and it wasn't until just today that Play won't work. Can you guys give me some troubleshooting suggestions? If it helps, when I hit "Play" if I look very closely I can see the tape reel trying to move. It shakes like it's trying to get goin', but it cant.. but you have to look very closely to see this. I know this question might be a little general, but maybe some of you guys can help me to help you... help me.. or something like that.. I have spent a good amount of dough on gear surrounding this desk, only to have this problem! Thanks in advance!

ssltech

Re: 1/4" Reel to reel Probs..
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 05:45:45 PM »

Are you by chance using old Ampex or Quantegy tape?

-Did anyone mention cleaning the tape path to you?

Secondarily, -is the capstan turning?

Keith
MDM (maxdimario) wrote on Fri, 16 November 2007 21:36

I have the feeling that I have more experience in my little finger than you do in your whole body about audio electronics..

Bill_Urick

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2008, 06:57:26 PM »

Common problem with that one is bad solder on the heatsink mounted voltage regulators. It will shut down the transport in the way you describe.