R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: What Do You Charge For?  (Read 8881 times)

dconstruction

What Do You Charge For?
« on: March 08, 2007, 03:11:57 PM »

Though I am now an owner/operator of a [small, part-time] studio, I've never actually been a client of a studio, so I've got no experience with how others run their business.

Last night, I was told by a client that she was surprised by the amount of set-up time (40mins: drums, vox, bass, guitar), and that the other studio she went to was "plug-n-play".  I'll admit, I'd just changed the heads on the drum kit, so it was not perfectly set up - and I don't have enough mics to leave the kit permanently mic'd up.  But even if I did, "plug-n-play"?  That sounds crazy to me.  I might choose a completely different configuration from one band to the next - and I won't know until I hear the band, especially the drummer.

But maybe I'm just a rank amateur.  

How much preparation do you guys do before a session (engineering wise, not production)?  Are you "plug-n-play"?  What's acceptable (i.e. chargeable) set-up time?  40minutes might have been slow, but from load-in to record, not that slow.  Or is it?

And because it's leaving such a bad taste in my mouth, I'll go ahead and vent: hinting that I was wasting time doesn't really sit well when you're drummer's never heard the songs before.  Seriously, this was just an expensive rehearsal.

That I recorded really well.

So she can go home and listen to how crappy it sounds when the drummer's hesitating and anticipating and playing the same damn beat throughout the entire song.

[/rant]

L

rankus

Re: What Do You Charge For?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2007, 03:37:03 PM »

40 minutes is NOT slow!

This is one of the reasons I like to charge "by the song" ...

Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios