R/E/P Community

R/E/P => R/E/P Archives => Fletcher => Topic started by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 18, 2011, 01:14:33 pm

Title: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 18, 2011, 01:14:33 pm
Is it Rocket science?

is this a fair priced kit?

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEVE-1272-RECAP-KIT-Premium-/17056656080 1?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27b68f2c21#ht_500wt_670

or should I order the parts somewhere else?




Thanks a million, Bubba
Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: MagnetoSound on January 18, 2011, 02:31:47 pm

It's not rocket science.


The closest available caps to the Philips originals (these are the blue ones) are the blue Vishay/BC caps purportedly made on the same machinery.


The listing is not explicit (Vishay/Sprague/Cornell Dubilier). Although some of these caps may be technically superior in some respects, they are not identical, and this may perhaps be considered more of an upgrade. Or not.


Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 18, 2011, 02:51:37 pm
Thanks for the response.  Where do I order from?  how many of what?  Whats the highest quality in your opinion?

thanks

MagnetoSound wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 11:31


It's not rocket science.


The closest available caps to the Philips originals (these are the blue ones) are the blue Vishay/BC caps purportedly made on the same machinery.


The listing is not explicit (Vishay/Sprague/Cornell Dubilier). Although some of these caps may be technically superior in some respects, they are not identical, and this may perhaps be considered more of an upgrade. Or not.




Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Dominick on January 18, 2011, 03:12:36 pm
I suggest you visit Geoff Tanner's Neve forum
http://www.auroraaudio.net/aa_html/aa_neve.htm
Lot's of vital information there.

If I recall, Geoff is of the opinion that single rail Neve modules such as the 1272 rarely need capacitor replacement.

If you must replace them it is important that capacitors of the original type are used.
Don't go replacing tantalum caps with electrolytics.
Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Fletcher on January 18, 2011, 04:25:18 pm
I would 1000% agree with the keep them all the same type!!!  Part of "the sound" is created by the tantalums having DC on them at all times -- on the larger modules with EQ[1081, 1073, etc.] it is also HIGHLY unadvisable to change the caps in the EQ section!!

However the electrolytics in the amplifier sections -- like on the B283 boards in a 1272 should really be changed every decade or so [and I would recommend the use of 105˚C caps rather than the 85˚C caps - you get an extra few years of service from them!!] if you have any notion of the modules sounding up to their potential... and while you're in there, don't forget to check the bias on the output board as well... if that ain't set up right you also won't be getting all you can get from the box.

Peace.
Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 18, 2011, 10:32:02 pm
The funny thing is I bought these 1272's off ebay a few weeks back, I did not know until after I won the auction- but it was actually Kip Winger from Winger who sold them to me!!  You know those caps have not been changed since the 80's.    He was super nice guy and I ended up getting a 8 space full size neve rack with 2 1272's in them with beefy power supply for $1460- you cant beat that !!!   He even signed the back of it!!  Watch out world, I'm carrying on the Winger torch!!

thanks for the responses gentlemen!!


cheers
Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Geoff_T on January 20, 2011, 03:17:46 pm
Bubba#$%Kron wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 10:14

Is it Rocket science?

is this a fair priced kit?

  http://cgi.ebay.com/NEVE-1272-RECAP-KIT-Premium-/17056656080   1?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27b68f2c21#ht_500wt_670

or should I order the parts somewhere else?




Thanks a million, Bubba


Hi

The guy in that link had better not include my tech sheets

I sell folk my tech sheets on condition that they are not duplicated and re-sold

I emailed the guy to see if he is including them with the capacitors he sells
Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 20, 2011, 03:54:04 pm
I wont buy from him based on that.  Geoff do you sell them or know a website that does?

How many of what do I need?

thanks

Geoff_T wrote on Thu, 20 January 2011 12:17

Bubba#$%Kron wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 10:14

Is it Rocket science?

is this a fair priced kit?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEVE-1272-RECAP-KIT-Premium-/17056656080     1?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27b68f2c21#ht_500wt_670

or should I order the parts somewhere else?




Thanks a million, Bubba


Hi

The guy in that link had better not include my tech sheets

I sell folk my tech sheets on condition that they are not duplicated and re-sold

I emailed the guy to see if he is including them with the capacitors he sells

Title: Re: Can I recap 1272 modules if I'm handy with a Iron??
Post by: Bubba#$%Kron on January 20, 2011, 08:09:50 pm
I just emailed you geoff and got the info I needed. disregard last post!!

Thanks a lot, you are a very helpful and nice!!! Smile