R/E/P Community

R/E/P => Recording - Engineering & Production => Topic started by: ole on February 05, 2016, 01:23:45 am

Title: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: ole on February 05, 2016, 01:23:45 am
Hello,
This is my first post, I am living in Japan right now with a job with a lot of downtime so I am sitting at my desk just thinking. I am also away from most of my gear in the US so I don't have any easy way try this out.

I've been thinking about using preamps and others racks in a guitar chain.
In terms of staging does it make sense to go from the effects send of an amp to a DI then to pre's and/or racks (if the racks only have balanced inputs) and then into a reamp box and to the effects return.

Does this chain make sense in terms of staging? Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks,
Ole
Title: Re: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: Fletcher on February 06, 2016, 12:56:33 am
What are you hoping to "go into"?  If its a +4 rack unit, then yeah, its probably not a bad idea... but if you're going through guitar level [stomp box] FX there would be no need... and frankly, there is "stomp box" technology out there that is as good if not better than the majority of +4 / balanced rack mounted "pro" audio gear out there.

That said, there are all kinds of DI's -- a "passive DI" will work for what you're talking about doing, but frankly I'd sooner recommend the Littlelabs (http://www.littlelabs.com) gear as an elegant way to get from "guitar level" to "line level" and back again.

Peace
Title: Re: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: ole on March 08, 2016, 12:55:05 am
Hello!
Sorry for the slow reply, I was thinking of using lunchbox modules like the DIYre colour or various mic preamps. Thank you for the heads up about Little Labs!
Title: Re: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: Fletcher on March 08, 2016, 09:08:45 am
The Littlelabs stuff is really unique, and so well suited to the purpose that I can not recommend it highly enough!!  Jonathan [Little] makes such wonderfully useful and unique tools that make the process so much easier to achieve your goals its insane!!

Best of luck with all you do.

Peace
Title: Re: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: JSantos on March 11, 2016, 05:13:44 am
Hello,
This is my first post, I am living in Japan right now with a job with a lot of downtime so I am sitting at my desk just thinking. I am also away from most of my gear in the US so I don't have any easy way try this out.

I've been thinking about using preamps and others racks in a guitar chain.
In terms of staging does it make sense to go from the effects send of an amp to a DI then to pre's and/or racks (if the racks only have balanced inputs) and then into a reamp box and to the effects return.

Does this chain make sense in terms of staging? Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks,
Ole

Quite wondering myself as well if there are specialized ways to connect stompbox effects and then connect them to more than four racks from an amplifier.
Title: Re: Using a DI Racks and a Reamp in the effects send of an Amp
Post by: Fletcher on March 12, 2016, 01:04:34 am
Again -- Littlelabs has the solution -- you should really check out the exceptionally innovative stuff that Jonathan [Little] builds!!

Click this link to the Littlelabs website (http://www.littlelabs.com)

Peace