R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 16   Go Down

Author Topic: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools  (Read 52591 times)

Augustine Leudar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« on: October 21, 2005, 05:32:10 pm »

Surely at the end of the day its all just ones and zeros so does it make any difference ?
The only advantage I can see in pro tools is finding jobs.
So to anyone really knows the technical side of this (as opposed to opinions grounded in product propaganda and snobbery rather than technical facts and experience).
Ive noticed people always say the one they use is better so id be interested in unbiased or objective opinions.
So which is better ?

Vertigo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1334
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 05:46:01 pm »

Augustine Leudar wrote on Fri, 21 October 2005 17:32

The only advantage I can see in pro tools is finding jobs.



You pretty much answered your own question. They both do the same thing (more or less). The biggest advantage of Nuendo is price point, and this includes plug-ins - TDM are generally twice the price of Native.

-Lance
Logged

Phil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 06:04:45 pm »

Pro Tools is more widely used among professional studios, and that makes it somewhat of a de facto standard. When some of your work is done in a home facility, it's nice to be able to take a disk with the session data into a PT studio, and start in with vocal backgrounds, string overdubs, brass section, or whatever you need the extra real estate for. It's like the old days when you hauled your 2 inch from studio to studio, except the CD/DVD is much lighter.
Logged
Phil Nelson

Augustine Leudar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2005, 06:07:36 pm »

Thanks for the replies. I am aware of protools being the industry standard i was just wondering if there was actually any technical reason why this is so. Especially since the gear is so expensive.

Jack Schitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 648
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2005, 06:25:21 pm »

Augustine Leudar wrote on Fri, 21 October 2005 18:07

Thanks for the replies. I am aware of protools being the industry standard i was just wondering if there was actually any technical reason why this is so. Especially since the gear is so expensive.


Technically, because they were the first to arrive with a pro level app. They have made boat loads from being the first. Not unlike MS vs mac.
Logged

Augustine Leudar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2005, 06:33:29 pm »

But as things stand now is there any difference in sound quality and features between the two ?
ie floats, latency etc
Ive noticed that because protools is industry standards people just assume its better. I would question that.
as for mac versus pc thats another tin of worms.....

timrob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2005, 06:33:47 pm »

I use both all the time. They each have strengths and weaknesses.
I find Pro Tools to be more intuitive to use. Other folks will tell you that Nuendo is more intuitive. It all depends on what you can relate to easiest.
Technically, I don't think either has an advantage. Depends on the type of work you're doing.
I like Nuendo's ability to do non realtime bounces to stems.
I also like being able to make gain adjustments in a file rather than having to write automation for everything.
I like Pro Tools editing style and automation and crossfade handling.
I prefer ProTools Playlists to Nuendo's Layers (Parts).

With Nuendo you have many more options for Hardware.
With PT/HD you get solid hardware and w/192i/o you get great converters.

I like having both. Since Nuendo can utilize PT hardware, I've got the best of both worlds.

Best,
Logged
Tim Roberts
Waterknot Music
Nashville


---------------------------
Ours is not to understand.
Ours is just to record the band.
-Unknown

Ged Leitch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2005, 06:34:04 pm »

I actually find Tools easier to use over Cubasevst/sx, especially automation and mixing etc.
Logged
http://bitheadmastering.co.uk/

"...But I don't wanna be a pirate!"

blueboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2005, 07:55:11 pm »

timrob wrote on Fri, 21 October 2005 15:33

I use both all the time. They each have strengths and weaknesses.
I find Pro Tools to be more intuitive to use. Other folks will tell you that Nuendo is more intuitive. It all depends on what you can relate to easiest.
Technically, I don't think either has an advantage. Depends on the type of work you're doing.
I like Nuendo's ability to do non realtime bounces to stems.
I also like being able to make gain adjustments in a file rather than having to write automation for everything.
I like Pro Tools editing style and automation and crossfade handling.
I prefer ProTools Playlists to Nuendo's Layers (Parts).

With Nuendo you have many more options for Hardware.
With PT/HD you get solid hardware and w/192i/o you get great converters.

I like having both. Since Nuendo can utilize PT hardware, I've got the best of both worlds.

Best,



Exactly....this is really all you need to know...

JL
Logged
"Only he who attempts the absurd can achieve the impossible." ~ Manuel Onamuno

Augustine Leudar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2005, 09:34:29 pm »

timrob wrote on Fri, 21 October 2005 23:33

I use both all the time. They each have strengths and weaknesses.
I find Pro Tools to be more intuitive to use. Other folks will tell you that Nuendo is more intuitive. It all depends on what you can relate to easiest.
Technically, I don't think either has an advantage. Depends on the type of work you're doing.
I like Nuendo's ability to do non realtime bounces to stems.
I also like being able to make gain adjustments in a file rather than having to write automation for everything.
I like Pro Tools editing style and automation and crossfade handling.
I prefer ProTools Playlists to Nuendo's Layers (Parts).

With Nuendo you have many more options for Hardware.
With PT/HD you get solid hardware and w/192i/o you get great converters.

I like having both. Since Nuendo can utilize PT hardware, I've got the best of both worlds.

Best,


Great ! I was hoping for someone who uses both to respond. Thanks.

rankus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5560
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2005, 01:35:49 pm »



PDC = Pluggin Delay Compensation

IMO this is the difference between just usable and truly pro...

Whatever you get make sure it has this feature...

NOT to be confused with "ADC" which is a different animal...

Nuendo is my platform of choice, and we have both a Pro Tools room and Nuendo, so I could use PT if I realy wanted..... But don't
Logged
Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios

Ive done stuff I'm not proud of.. and the stuff I am proud of is disgusting ~ Moe Sizlack

"There is no crisis in energy, the crisis is in imagination" ~ Buckminster Fuller

timrob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2005, 02:10:15 pm »

rankus wrote on Sat, 22 October 2005 12:35



PDC = Pluggin Delay Compensation

IMO this is the difference between just usable and truly pro...

Whatever you get make sure it has this feature...

NOT to be confused with "ADC" which is a different animal...




In what way are they different? Doen't it amount to the same thing?

Logged
Tim Roberts
Waterknot Music
Nashville


---------------------------
Ours is not to understand.
Ours is just to record the band.
-Unknown

rankus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5560
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2005, 02:55:55 pm »

timrob wrote on Sat, 22 October 2005 11:10

rankus wrote on Sat, 22 October 2005 12:35



PDC = Pluggin Delay Compensation

IMO this is the difference between just usable and truly pro...

Whatever you get make sure it has this feature...

NOT to be confused with "ADC" which is a different animal...




In what way are they different? Doen't it amount to the same thing?




Very slight differences...

ADC delay is commonly used to interface with outboard effects (corrects for hardware latency) where as PDC compensates for pluggin latency only....

ADC also compensates for pluggins, so my point may be moot....

The latest version of Nuendo will also do ADC as well as PDC....The cheaper versions of Pro Tools  dont have PDC? (Better check this)...

In the end its probably just semantics, because the results are the same....

Sorry for my confusion... it's early over here...
Logged
Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios

Ive done stuff I'm not proud of.. and the stuff I am proud of is disgusting ~ Moe Sizlack

"There is no crisis in energy, the crisis is in imagination" ~ Buckminster Fuller

blueboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2005, 03:16:09 pm »

And I guess if you want to get technical....

Cubase/Nuendo is 32 bit Floating Point

ProTools is 48 bit Fixed Point

ProTools LE/M-Powered is 32 bit Floating Point

.........................................................

This link talks about 32 bit Floating Point in Cubase/Nuendo:

 http://service.steinberg.net/knowledge_pro.nsf/show/32bit_fl oating_point

This thread covers ProTools 48 bit Fixed Point:

 http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/7645/11771/?SQ= 33e0c71997f25b742495fd974f01d2dc

Regards,

JL
Logged
"Only he who attempts the absurd can achieve the impossible." ~ Manuel Onamuno

zetterstroem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Cubase/Nuendo vs Protools
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2005, 09:47:27 am »

they sound different.....

listened to some cd's i grabbed.... then i played back the files in both protools and nuendo..... (through the same ouput and with the same volume of course)..... *

protools sounded more precise and analytical.... nuendo sounded a bit smeared in the top end.... a bit plastic-like.... nice on some metal tracks.... but all in all protools sounded more "correct".....

if this is due to floating vs. fixed point i don't know....

btw.... hate the mixer layout in nuendo....

* no ronny... it was not a blind test... although i closed my eyes sometimes Smile
Logged
Noting the music industry's complaints that illegal downloading means people are getting their music for free, he said, "Well, why not? It ain't worth nothing anyway." (b.dylan)
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 16   Go Up