R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Multiple Compressors" Newbie Question Sort Of  (Read 2126 times)

rwj1313

"Multiple Compressors" Newbie Question Sort Of
« on: October 11, 2005, 03:36:38 PM »

Hey Guys,

I've seen mention of people using multiple comps on single tracks to achieve various results. Some people have called it parallel compression and others have used serial to describe what they are doing. I'm an electronics guy so I have a very distinct idea of what parallel and serial mean from that stand point and I'm not sure I understand how you would hook up compressors in parallel. That said........I have done searches on these forums and even on Google to try and find a good description on how to use compressors in this manner. My background is in live sound but I am new to the studio thing which is why I'm asking. I am not new to comps and know how to set them and why.  I'm just wondering if you guys could clue me in on why you use multiple comps and how you set them and what it is you are trying to achieve. I have seen this technique mentioned for vocals mostly. So any other uses and why would be a big help.

Thanks,

Rick
If you think you're finished at the dance, you are quitting too soon.    William Wittman

you need the fat to protect the stomach lining against alcohol, and the alcohol to cut through the fat in the bloodstream so, it's beer & doughnuts for me.  Maxim

.nathan.kosakowski.

Re: "Multiple Compressors" Newbie Question Sort Of
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2005, 05:58:25 PM »

ok, well... it really isn't all that different from electronics (from the schematic viewpoint).

serial compression would be two or more compressors in sequence, the output of the first leading to the input of the second.  (that can also be modified inserting an eq or something else between the two, ie. COMP->EQ->COMP->where ever...