R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: any solution at all???!!!  (Read 3568 times)

jackson5spot

any solution at all???!!!
« on: September 01, 2005, 01:10:22 PM »

Hello. I am new to all this but I came here with the hope of finding someone that can answer a few of my ignorant questions.

I bought a new Dell Dimension XPSGen3 around November 0f 2004 with the intentions of eventually using it in a home studio with pro tools. I recently acquired an MBox and Pro Tools LE 6.4. After installing the software and connecting the MBox I began to run into a problem with the playback. I receive (error -6085)... Operating system has been in interrupt to long; increase H/W buffer size...etc etc. This, of course, has no effect whatsoever when done.

As it turns out, the Digidesign MBox is not compatible with the Intel Pentium 4 925x chipset on my computers motherboard. I have contacted Dell and been informed that there is no upgrade to the 925xe chipset available w/o screwing the warranty and it would cost as much as a new machine to get it done anyhow.

That is when I began to search for any possible alternatives to what is apparently a USB power issue. After intense hours of internet investigation and filtering through many pages of information I know nothing about, i came to one possible solution. At least I hoped it would be a solution. I read that some users with the same problem have routed their MBoxes through a powered USB hub. This, I have read, alleviated the problem and allowed them to go about the joy of recording. Alas and Alack, this has not worked for me. I have purchased a powered hub and it seems to have made no difference.

My question to you, the wonderful people who have made me sound so damn good in a real studio, is...

1. Is there any hardware settings that I should know about to make said USB the solution?