R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Going from Live Sound to Recording, on a budget.  (Read 1692 times)

Andy Spalla

Going from Live Sound to Recording, on a budget.
« on: August 27, 2005, 07:33:58 PM »

Hello all,

I'm new to the REP forums. I am 17 years old and I run a small Live sound business. A good friend of mine has a band, and he wants to record after writing some new songs. Now instead of saying "No, I can't do recording," I want to find out out what I can do for him.

I have some live sound mixers which I can use. I can mic everything fine. My problem is the actual recording itself. Let's say I want multiple tracks. What's the cheapest, but decent way to do this? The free version of pro-tools seems like a good option. But getting audio into the computer seems difficult with the budget I have. I had the idea of setting up an array of casette recorders which would be connected to direct outputs of the mixer. Then to get that into the computer, I could use the mic-in on my laptop, and record each cassette player individually into the computer. Then use pro tools to align the tracks, and edit appropriately.

Or I could just do one of their live shows and record the main mix.  Cool Either way, this is going to be very ghetto.  Laughing

What do you guys think? I plan to go to college for Audio Production, so this I think would be a good thing to do for my career.

Thanks,
Andy

hargerst

Re: Going from Live Sound to Recording, on a budget.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2005, 10:48:06 PM »

There is NO way that you will be able to hold synch on multiple cassette recorders.  BAD IDEA!!  (Interesting approach, but bad.) Rent a couple of 8 track digital recorders that can be tied together.
Harvey "Is that the right note?" Gerst
Indian Trail Recording Studio

Benmrx

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2005, 02:51:12 AM »

Don't forget about the old school four track