R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Files question.  (Read 1411 times)

Blake

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Files question.
« on: August 18, 2005, 08:55:19 pm »

So I tracked a band in Protools using SDII files.  Now the band needs the files as 24 bit WAVs.  How do I do that?  Can't I just make a new session in WAV format and just import?  Doesn't seem too hard, I've just never had to do it. Thanks for any advice.
Logged

archtop

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
Re: Files question.
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2005, 08:58:52 am »

you could also triple click the timeline to select all used regions in the sessions

then in the menu for the regions bin select -EXPORT SELECTED AS FILES--

there is a spot to select wav's as the file type
Logged
Richard Williams

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: Files question.
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2005, 08:59:02 am »

that will work if you dont' have any punches or things you need to stay time aligned.

the other way would be to bounce each file mono and convert to wav (this takes forever)

maybe "import to track" will do the conversion, that would be my first attempt. it's under the file pull down menu.
Logged

originalrecorderman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
Re: Files question.
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2005, 11:39:33 am »

save session copy as....

you have the abillity to save/convert at diff bit rates and depths and formats.

John Ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3028
Re: Files question.
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2005, 12:09:00 pm »

I don't know much about protools these days. I have a question also..

I can open AIFF files In Samplitude.. What is the "normal"Protools format. I will be doing some things that originated in Protools and I wonder what My options are..

Thanks.
Logged
"Transformation is no easy trick: It's what art promises and usually doesn't deliver." Garrison Keillor

 

NelsonL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1233
Re: Files question.
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2005, 12:34:23 pm »

ivan40 wrote on Fri, 19 August 2005 09:09

I don't know much about protools these days. I have a question also..

I can open AIFF files In Samplitude.. What is the "normal"Protools format.




It's user defined upon opening a new session-- seems to me that WAV and AIFF are both pretty common.
Logged

Blake

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Files question.
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2005, 02:27:05 pm »

Hey Eric
I tried to do your "save as" solution, but where is the option to change file type?  It only asks where to save.
Logged

Chris Cavell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 202
Re: Files question.
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2005, 05:56:57 pm »

Blake wrote on Sat, 20 August 2005 13:27

Hey Eric
I tried to do your "save as" solution, but where is the option to change file type?  It only asks where to save.


Not "save as", you need to use "save session copy in".  That should do it.
Logged

originalrecorderman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
Re: Files question.
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2005, 06:11:03 pm »

Eric Greedy wrote on Fri, 19 August 2005 11:39

save session copy as....




ditto..but excuse my using the word "as" instead of "in"..my rig's at work..the old memory muscle must be weak.
Smile

Curve Dominant

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 774
Re: Files question.
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2005, 10:09:30 pm »

Eric Greedy wrote on Fri, 19 August 2005 16:39

save session copy as.... (in)

you have the abillity to save/convert at diff bit rates and depths and formats.


Thanks Eric, cuz I've been wondering how to do this myself lately.
Pages: [1]   Go Up