R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Final CD Ampltiude and Dither  (Read 3245 times)

domc

Final CD Ampltiude and Dither
« on: February 03, 2010, 02:14:06 AM »

this might be a complete noob question but... doing a master in samplitude.  Limiter set to -0.3db

Burn cd direct from samplitude tells me that the overall level is >0.  I take it that this is due to the SRC/dither.  How do I calculate the actual overall level of the cd after dither and SRC when I am burning straight from a 96k session.  I don't want digital overs or for the cd to distort.
Domc

Mastering Engineer
Dominic McGlinn B.Mus.T. (Hons)

Margate, QLD
+61421961641

www.domc.com.au
dom@domc.com.au

urm eric

Re: Final CD Ampltiude and Dither
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 08:09:20 AM »

I'm not aware of any method of calculation so I suppose you could separate the processes to see what the SRC is doing and then dither/burn from the 44.1 file?

All the best,

Eric
Philosophers Barn Mastering
www.phibarnmastering.co.uk

ggidluck

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2010, 10:01:05 AM »

In Samplitude if you bounce to a file it will tell you the maximum amplitude. I usually render a file a number of times with eq and other processing (and with dither enabled.) What you get reported as the max amplitude with that vs what you get on the burned CD should be the same. So there is no need to burn a CD to determine that.

Also I find it useful to use the Sonoris meter (VST plugin) on the mix buss which can detect intersample peaks while previewing the audio.
Gordon Gidluck
http://live2496.com

Jerry Tubb

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 08:26:06 AM »

I'm not sure that any dithering that causes the peak meter to touch 0dBFS is such a big deal.

I still see masters from the top dogs that sit on "0" pretty regularly.