R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 32bit Float to 24bit fixed?  (Read 2837 times)

KHStudio

32bit Float to 24bit fixed?
« on: May 30, 2005, 10:17:36 PM »

I’ve been using Nuendo for over 5 years.  I just realized that I’ve been truncating from 32-bit within the program to my 24-bit converters (2x) RME 8 i/o and Tango 24).  Nowhere in the manual or website did anyone warn that the program doesn’t handle this correctly.  I hardly ever mix in the box.  I send 24 channels out to an analog mixing console almost exclusively.  To me it just sounds better.  I am aware from reading Nika’s paper that there are two separate issues concerning float-point dithering.  With that said, the only one that concerns me is how Nuendo doesn’t give me the right tools to dither the outputs prior to DA conversion. They really need to add more dithering options to address this issue.  

I recently applied dither plug-ins to my final output busses in Nuendo (post fader) following information I read from Bob Katz and Nika (24-bits of triangular dither, no shaping, and 2-bits of dither).  Myself and many others have heard huge differences in the way the audio sounds coming through the mixing board:  more dynamic, better separation, more alive and less harsh, etc...  The best plug-in out of the bunch was the Izotope Ozone, all other functions were turned off except the DC offset was turned on prior to dithering (it seemed to make it even better).  The only problem is using 12 of the Ozone plugs in Nuendo eats up a lot of processing.  I’m using a 3 gig P4 and a gig of RAM.

My questions are:

Could you guys recommend any dithering plug-ins that you’ve found to be efficient and also sound good for this purpose?