R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cable question - revisited - help required  (Read 971 times)

Imagine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
Cable question - revisited - help required
« on: May 18, 2005, 03:22:23 PM »

ok here's my confusion.

I want to use the Lavry 4496 D/A for 2 functions.

1- to connect a Tascam DV-RA1000
2- to connect an RME Digiface/Card Bus which is connected to a G4 laptop.

I have (2) 1/4 inch patch bays. One for my analog connections, the other my digital connections.

What I'd like to do is wire the Lavry AES In to the patch bay, as well as the RME Spdif Out. Not so difficult. Make a cable 1/4 ich to AES, and connect it from the patch bay to the Lavry AES In.

The other cable is from the RME Spdif Out to the Patch bay. The Tascam is already connected to the Patch bay, so that's been done.

My question is I need a 110 to 75 Ohm transformer adapter between the Lavry - patch bay - RME. Where do I connect it?

Thanks in advance.

zetterstroem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 765
Re: Cable question - revisited - help required
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2005, 04:50:32 PM »

you don't "need" a transformer.....
Logged
Noting the music industry's complaints that illegal downloading means people are getting their music for free, he said, "Well, why not? It ain't worth nothing anyway." (b.dylan)

Imagine

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
Re: Cable question - revisited - help required
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2005, 05:24:08 PM »

According to Dan (Lavry), if a cable is longer than 6 feet, a transformer is required. The AES cable is 10 feet, and the Spdif 12 feet. Doesn't that require a transformer?

Thanks
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 17 queries.