R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: About SG's Superunknown.  (Read 8349 times)

Zepdavid

About SG's Superunknown.
« on: May 02, 2005, 08:37:41 AM »

First, hello to everyone in this forums. Newbie here.

A couple of questions about Soundgarden's Superunknown recording.

I know Fletcher has an important role in the guitar sounds in this record. But there's no much information about it and the engineering from Mr. Corsaro.

Marshall Plexis for cleans and Mesa Boogies for dirty sounds, RCA BK5 ribbon mics, Neve pres, Gretsch guitars...

There's info about detuning drum tracks, and even the use of samples for enhance the drums. I know I hear like "double" hits in Mat's drumming in Superunknown, maybe the squashed treatment (the only compressor which I can achieve this kind of thing is DeMaria clone of Fairchild, of course analog tape too), or maybe sampling enhancement (this "double's" are the typical artifact from the use of samples), or the detune thing. I'm sure that I like it very much, what an awesome bottom end. I heard a similar effect in the last Corrosion of Conformity album ("In the arms of God"), but this thing is squashed to death in mastering... Sad

The bass guitar with Mesas Bass400+ and reamped through PAs in the studio, Mr. Cornell singing through SM58s,...

Please Fletcher, enlight us with some info about this great record.

Many thanks and sorry for my bad english... cheers from Zep.

Zepdavid

Re: About SG's Superunknown.
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2005, 08:43:16 AM »

About the drum recording techniques, the info is a lot of net rumours (especially the sample enhancement). I personally think that this is wrong, this is because I ask here.

Cheers.. Zep.

eligit

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2005, 10:11:32 AM »

i would also LOVE to hear some stories about the production of this album.  it is one of my favorite hard rock records of all time.