R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Should I be expecting better performance from my new mic?  (Read 2248 times)

GuitarTim

Should I be expecting better performance from my new mic?
« on: April 21, 2005, 11:27:01 AM »

I've been experimenting with a VERY low-budget setup for a couple of months (so far less than $1000, CANADIAN), and just bought my first condenser mic a couple of weeks ago.

My setup so far:  Cubase System 4 (Steinberg MI4 USB audio interface, Cubase SL2.2) and my new mic, an Apex 415.  This mic has a low-cut switch, a -10db pad switch, and 3 polar patterns (cardioid, omni, figure-eight).

My question is about the apparent gain, or sensitivity, I'm experiencing with this mic, and the fact that I don't know how to figure out if the cause is the mic, or the pre.

The MI4 has 2 balanced XLR inputs on channels 1 and 2 (there are 4 channels total), with integrated preamp and phantom power.  It also has unbalanced inputs on ch. 1&2, and I've used these with old, cheap dynamic mics in the past and had no issues with gain - I never had to turn the knob more than about where the number 3 or 4 would be (if it had numbers).  However, with this new mic, I need to crank the knob up to where 8 or 9 would be (in the range indicated by a "red line", which I take to mean "this is likely to cause clipping"), AND, I need to be right on top of the mic (seemingly) in order to get acceptable levels for recording.  I'm using a circular pop filter about 2" or so in front of the mic, and not using the supplied "wind screen".

I'm certain that I'm addressing the "front" of the mic when using the cardioid pattern, and also that the pad switch is NOT engaged (I've tried it both ways).  I've also tried it with the low-cut both on and off.