R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x  (Read 4835 times)

Gone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 431
Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« on: March 30, 2005, 03:16:28 AM »

I'm setting up a system with an Apogee AD-16x. Outboard mic pres will feed it, it will feed an RME card via lightpipe (for Nuendo).
The output of the RME card goes via lightpipe into a Tascam DM24.

A number of people have suggested that lightpipe will be sufficient for keeping the system stable. I wonder if the word clock out of the Apogee should be used somehow - ?
Can it be split to feed both the RME and Tascam? Or should it go to just the RME?

I know a Big Ben would be great, but it's not in the budget right now.

Thanks...
Logged

Gone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 431
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2005, 11:25:19 PM »

Having waded through some of the Big Ben Thread, maybe 'great' isn't how some of you would describe that approach.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Lightpipe okay?
Logged

Helge Sten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 12:55:49 AM »

Check out this thread:

http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/4508/8427/?SQ=4 e52a7d547670c0e0cd33a9fafb29ab8

Good luck.  No need for Big Ben in your setup.
Logged
Helge Sten
Audio Virus LAB
Oslo, Norway

Max

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2005, 04:58:25 PM »

Nick Eipers wrote on Wed, 30 March 2005 09:16

I'm setting up a system with an Apogee AD-16x. Outboard mic pres will feed it, it will feed an RME card via lightpipe (for Nuendo).
The output of the RME card goes via lightpipe into a Tascam DM24.

A number of people have suggested that lightpipe will be sufficient for keeping the system stable. I wonder if the word clock out of the Apogee should be used somehow - ?
Can it be split to feed both the RME and Tascam? Or should it go to just the RME?

I know a Big Ben would be great, but it's not in the budget right now.

Thanks...


The AD-16X already has the C777 clock module used in Big Ben. My suggestion would be to clock from the AD-16X to the DM24 via a BNC-T connector, then to the RME card. Make sure the DM24 termination switch is set to "off".
Logged
Max Gutnik
Apogee Electronics

PP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1005
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2005, 07:59:47 AM »

Logged

Max

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2005, 10:45:42 AM »

Thanks.... Wink
Logged
Max Gutnik
Apogee Electronics

Gone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 431
Re: Word Clock set-up with Apogee AD-16x
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2005, 07:26:34 PM »

Thanks, Max, I'll give that a try.

looking forward to using the converters, most of my experience with 888s (and below Sad
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.032 seconds with 19 queries.