R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9  (Read 2919 times)

bigaudioblowhard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1314
Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« on: March 18, 2007, 05:59:59 pm »

Protools is having a problem running with the new OS 10.4.9. On the Digi site they claim to download the combo bundle (downloading as I write this on another computer) and install it from there as opposed to the Software Update.

I found no info on the SS site about this, anyone having any trouble with it? I've opened an EDL and played it back okay so far.

Note to self: Alway check the software sites for info before updating OS's.

bab

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2007, 06:15:23 pm »

works fine... i guess.
its still as shitty as it was on 10.4.8
Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

bigaudioblowhard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1314
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2007, 07:21:33 pm »

jdg wrote on Sun, 18 March 2007 16:15

works fine... i guess.
its still as shitty as it was on 10.4.8


Good one, funny. I sure hope they get the 1.2 or whatever ready soon, its getting a bit frustrating. Just found out Gavin Lurrssen is using SB too at his new place. Its nice to know he's cursing along with us.

One thing great about  SB is that its cutting CDR's that analyse beautifully on the CDA2000, though its probably more of a testament to the cutter in the Macs. Super low error rates making me feel pretty comfortable about that at least. At this point, one less headache is welcome news.

bab

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2007, 09:22:57 pm »

for me cutting CDs just makes silent discs.
there is TOC data and tracks.. they're just coming out silent now.. not everytime.. just sometimes.  its awe inspiring.

Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

Jerry Tubb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2007, 11:12:07 pm »

bigaudioblowhard wrote on Sun, 18 March 2007 16:59

Protools is having a problem running with the new OS 10.4.9. On the Digi site they claim to download the combo bundle (downloading as I write this on another computer) and install it from there as opposed to the Software Update.


Thanks for the tip bab, noticed PT was crashing for the first time in years for me.

Sonic PMCD 2.0 was dicey as well...

Downloaded & installed the "Combo" update, all seems to be good now.

JT
Logged
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 20 years of Mastering!

bigaudioblowhard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1314
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2007, 12:09:39 am »

jdg wrote on Sun, 18 March 2007 19:22

for me cutting CDs just makes silent discs.
there is TOC data and tracks.. they're just coming out silent now.. not everytime.. just sometimes.  its awe inspiring.




That is bizarre. It seems the session plays back through the desk on its way to DDP, could it be that your desk is on input or not playing tracks 1 and 2 or something silly like that? Have you called Sonic Studio support?

bab

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2007, 12:21:47 am »

it plays the EDL fine.. just burning DDP/CD i get bupkis.

i dont remember which outs i had it "monitoring" thru..
should that matter?
Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

Dave Davis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2007, 07:21:33 am »

Absolutely mattered in SSHD, and I believe its the same for sB: the SSE cuts directly from the monitor output.  This is good when you want to apply an analog or outboard process to the delivery stream, bad when you forget to reassign.  Specifically, M1/2 are always your cutting/CD stream.  Whatever appears there should be on your disc.

One other possibility: if you get a processor overload or some other error, you can lose audio stream.  But that sounds like a different thing, since you aren't mentioning any error dialogs.

-d-
Logged

Matt_G

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 648
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2007, 08:06:29 am »

bigaudioblowhard wrote on Mon, 19 March 2007 09:21

jdg wrote on Sun, 18 March 2007 16:15

works fine... i guess.
its still as shitty as it was on 10.4.8


Good one, funny. I sure hope they get the 1.2 or whatever ready soon, its getting a bit frustrating. Just found out Gavin Lurrssen is using SB too at his new place. Its nice to know he's cursing along with us.


It's good that you guys are diving in & getting your feet wet. After my last experience with the sB 1.1 demo I'll be holding off until you guys give it the thumbs up for reliability. In it's present state I couldn't work with it personally. Once all the beta testing is done, let me know Wink

Matt
Logged
Matthew Gray Mastering

Brisbane Australia

jfrigo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1029
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2007, 12:16:52 pm »

bigaudioblowhard wrote on Sun, 18 March 2007 17:59

Protools is having a problem running with the new OS 10.4.9. On the Digi site they claim to download the combo bundle (downloading as I write this on another computer) and install it from there as opposed to the Software Update.

I found no info on the SS site about this, anyone having any trouble with it? I've opened an EDL and played it back okay so far.

Note to self: Alway check the software sites for info before updating OS's.

bab


There were reports of trouble with 10.4.8, but there hasn't been enough chatter to know about 10.4.9 yet. the only report I've heard was one person who was having 10.4.8 problems was doing better with 10.4.9, but it was a single, early report, so I wouldn't put too much stock in it yet. I've stayed with 10.4.7 for the present.
Logged

tweakman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2007, 11:32:39 pm »


Don't know about SB but if you use Waves plugns . . . .

http://www.wavesupport.net/Content.aspx?id=2287
Logged

Jerry Tubb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2007, 02:47:01 am »

tweakman wrote on Tue, 20 March 2007 22:32


...if you use Waves plugns . . . .


The Waves Ren DeEsser TDM worked great for me today with OSX 10.4.9 (Combo) & PT HD.

As did Crane Songs' Phoenix "Dark Essence" TDM Plug.

WaveBurner worked great as well.

But I have noticed a few odd behaviors, yesterday I had a 1/4 sec drop out while printing... Yikes!

So I'm treading carefully and paying very close attention.

My advice - stay with 10.4.8 till the bugs get worked out.

JT
Logged
Terra Nova Mastering
Celebrating 20 years of Mastering!

PookyNMR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1991
Re: Anyone Having Trouble Running SB With OS 10.4.9
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2007, 12:11:12 pm »

The plug-in problem with 10.4.9 is limited to AU plugs....  Apple changed the AU validation...

Logged
Nathan Rousu
Pages: [1]   Go Up