R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2 Buss Summing for Dummys!!  (Read 3914 times)

Kenny Gioia

2 Buss Summing for Dummys!!
« on: February 12, 2005, 05:03:35 PM »

I posted this in my forum but I thought I would get some GMers opinions too.

I'm producing this great Indie rock band the entire month of March.

My Chemical Romance meets Taken Back Sunday.

Anyway. When I mix this project I'd really like to mix it on an analog console.

But no budget. So I'm gonna try out some Summing boxes.

I've never used any summing boxes before.

Although I have used real Analog consoles even more than Pro Tools. (yeah, it's true)

So here's my problem with these summing boxes. All they really do is sum. I don't like the way the gain staging occurs.

The mix is still really being made in Pro Tools.

If I was mixing on a Neve or SSL from 2" tape I would never adjust my mix using the tape machine outputs (those tiny screws) and put all the console's faders at 0VU.

Kind of absurd. Don't you think?

I think your losing your console's sweet spot. Or spots.

So for this reason I'm really digging the Chandler TG Mixer. (pictured below)

http://store1.yimg.com/I/mercenary-audio_1826_8250353

Unfortunately the damn thing isn't shipping yet. Maybe by the end of March.

But it's perfect. It has color. But it also has volume pots and pans. (pots and pans? is that a coincidence)

I can keep most of my Pro Tools faders at 0VU and adjust the volume on the board.

So I had the idea of replicating it using a Folcrom summing box.

http://www.rollmusic.com/systems/images/RMS216.jpg

The advantage being I can get make up gain using either my Neve 1272's, API's or Chandler TG 2. Some good color there.

But what about the individual Volume and Pan?

Your gonna think I'm nuts. (you'd be right)

What if I bought eight (or more) of these guys?