R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: New Mixer....  (Read 3850 times)

AyotteDrums

New Mixer....
« on: February 06, 2005, 11:29:07 PM »

I've been getting more and more into recording/mixing with my band's material.   Please check out a few of these songs and comment.  I am new at it and would LOVE any criticism possible. Very Happy

Thanks!

http://www.compelcreative.com/pp/Explosive.mp3
http://www.compelcreative.com/pp/Feelin.mp3
http://www.compelcreative.com/pp/Swing.mp3
http://www.compelcreative.com/pp/Zao.mp3

The band's name is the Party People
blip blip.

drumsound

Re: New Mixer....
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2005, 02:09:15 AM »

I dig the tunes and the vibe of the band.  It's a very Supergrass feel.  I think the first two could use a "radio edit," I think they're a bit longer than they need to be.  I'd like to hear a little more 'tonal' variation on the vocals.  

Are you the guitar player mixed to the left?  That seems to be the dominant instrument and sometimes people who mix their own material can be guilty of making themselves louder.  I've done this in the past.  
I'm gonna download these songs and listen some more.  I like the music.

Thanks for sharing.

AyotteDrums

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2005, 08:31:15 AM »

Nope, actually i'm the drummer in the band.  I'm sure anyone on here can relate to the 'everyone in the band wants to be the engineer'.

So, this said, our singer and guitarist want to have their time mixing....  frustrating to no end... I know how a mix should sound... yet I am unable to deliver a normal mix because he wants his *************ing guitar higher than all get out.

I wish i could say.. 'hey guys look at this..  someone who records and mixes and has no attachment to the band says dean is too loud...  and i digress..  oh well.