R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Altec 436b question?  (Read 1371 times)

wwest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Altec 436b question?
« on: February 05, 2005, 07:00:49 pm »

It's my understanding that simply removing the 6AL5 tube will bypass the compression and allow the unit to be used as a tube line amp only w/o compression. Is it this simple???

Just pull and roll?

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.  I'm a little hesitant to just yank the tube and plug it in.  Any jumpers needed?  

Anyone have a clue what I'm talking about?

Thanks.

Smile

Logged
Tune that piece of shit

wwest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Altec 436b question?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2005, 03:37:17 am »

bump.......

no leads on this huh?

wrong board? Confused
Logged
Tune that piece of shit

RMoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4584
Re: Altec 436b question?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2005, 06:14:32 am »

Try the John Klett tech forum in the REP forums below,
http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/f/30/2606/?SQ=e34 8ff825d9af4bf41edd6bf904e0d67

FWIW I'm not sure its that easy but don't know..

I thought the actual compression tube was another type,

Couldn't you just tweak the threshold so that the compression was not activating..

I have a 436c where there's release & threshold control pots, not sure if you have those w the 436b

Logged
People's Republic of Ryan

http://www.myspace.com/twilightcircus
 http://www.youtube.com/user/Ryonik
 
By the end of today, another day is gone forever. You will never get it back.
We must never let up for a second. Work harder at every single thing - Terry Manning

 You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take - Wayne Gretzky

Bryson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2005
Re: Altec 436b question?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2005, 09:03:17 am »

Yes, it is that simple.

The 6AL5 is a twin diode tube that rectifies the output ac voltage into neg. dc that varies the gain (mu) in the 6BC8.  Pull the dectector tube and that negative bias is gone (no G.R.).

Timmy
Logged

wwest

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Altec 436b question?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2005, 09:44:10 am »

Timmy, thanks for the insight and explanation.

Ryan, actually mine has no controls.  "Volume" and a g.r. meter is all you'll find on the front of mine.  More volume = more g.r.

Thanks.
Logged
Tune that piece of shit
Pages: [1]   Go Up