R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mastering in a tuned, treated room versus not  (Read 1580 times)

Felixx

Mastering in a tuned, treated room versus not
« on: February 04, 2005, 12:16:00 PM »

Thrilled to have found this forum.  Thank you very much, George.
I'll try to be brief.

I have a project ready to master which is very important to me. Adult contemporary/some cuts pseudo-orchestral.  Real strong singers, bg's, etc. I'm very very happy with the mixes I've got.

I've tried mastering once with a real pro... a great guy.  The problem is that what I hear outside of the studio just seems to sound a little too much different than what I heard in the room.  I came to find out that this engineer... once again, a real pro and a wonderful man... has obviously come to learn his room, but the room is not professionally tuned.  When you walk a few steps one way or the other, the sound changes... you can also hear some traffic outside.

I've talked to pro friends and gotten varied opinions.  I know lots of people master - especially in project studios - in non-tuned circumstances and get great results. However, I'm not an engineer... I'm a composer/producer/arranger.

I fully realize that the most important components - bar none - are the engineer, his equipment, and my being able to adequately verbalize what I want.

But isn't it important that at this last bastion of the process, if financially possible, you're in a setting that's as well acousticized (sp?) and tuned to some kind of established standard as possible?  Don't you stand the best chance of the mixes sounding the same on a multitude of systems outside of the studio that way?

I'm scheduled to fly to a big time, recognized-name place which I'm sure is the definition of tuned and treated, to try again.