R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Raymond Scott and his Electronium  (Read 9071 times)

arconaut

Raymond Scott and his Electronium
« on: March 07, 2005, 06:07:36 PM »

Hey everyone,

Since Bob Olhsson had mentioned Motown's purchase of an early Moog in another thread, and yet another  thread is about "otherworldly gear", I was hoping that I might be able to ply some Raymond Scott stories out of him. I understand that Mark Mothersbaugh has the electronium now, but that it doesn't work. There are a few recordings of it around and it is truly and wonderfully weird.

Was the electronium the main focus of Scott's work for Motown, or were there other ideas in development?

Thanks,

Noah
You Are Number Six

Brian Kehew

Re: Raymond Scott and his Electronium
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 03:52:24 AM »

I'm no expert, but I believe Raymond had a major hand (if not THE design of) the Motown Studios here in LA.

The Electronium is indeed at Mark Mothersbaugh's company, Mutato. It is far from working. ALthough it is not REALLY a synthesizer as much as a logic-based music composer. The computing it does COULD be re-done with results on a modern system....
Relax and float downstream...

arconaut

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2005, 04:37:38 PM »

I think it would've been amazing if Motown had actually achieved something with the electronium, that bass line generator track from Mahattan Research is way ahead of its time. I know you could achieve the same results (or "better") with a modern computer, but I am also a Gameboy musician, if that puts any spin on my perspective.