R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: ...on the polishing of turds  (Read 10569 times)

Keith Smith

...on the polishing of turds
« on: December 22, 2004, 07:23:05 PM »

I just turned 54 last month. I've been a gigging musician much of the time since I was 13 and I'm full time at it these days (although the vast bulk of my time is now spent with Cubase).

I've been a half decent photographer, owned/operated a machine shop for ten years, been a draftsman for part of it too, but all that said, learning to get a decent audio mix is the hardest thing I've ever tried to do, and I'm dead serious about learning to do it well. As they say, "Life is too short to suck!"

So I'm wondering if I could get a little guidance here:

I imagine all of you who have acheived anything in this business have spent your share of time turd-polishing as a way of learning your craft. I spend so many hours at it that I am beginning to wonder if there's a  recognizable point where it makes sense to say "This is done", and move on to the next project.

I'm doing a bit of commercial work, and have some happy clients, so I guess I'm getting the occasional thing right Smile but I am obsessive enough that a job is never done until someone comes and takes it away. -just wondering if one learns more from grinding some bad tracks to powder, trying to get something out of them, or if it's better to move quicker from project to project, doing the best you can.

Maybe it's kind of a stupid question, but I'd be very appreciative of the benefit of some 'real' experience.

Thanks,
Keith

weihfool

Re: ...on the polishing of turds
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2004, 08:37:48 PM »

Hey Keith,