R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A starter set of surround monitors -- help  (Read 3871 times)

David Das

A starter set of surround monitors -- help
« on: December 03, 2004, 11:53:30 AM »

I'm a stereo-only producer (who ends up engineering much of my own stuff) who'd like to dip my toe into surround and start getting used to it. My current stereo monitors are Mackie 824's. I know many people hate them -- let's try not to bash on them too hard. I know them well, I can mix to them well.

I could carve out a budget of around $1-2k. Here are some options I've been looking at:

1) Completing the Mackie set, perhaps using 624's as the rears. This is out of my budget for right now. Maybe I could just add the Mackie sub for now (completing a 2.1 system), and add the 624's later next year when I have the budget. What are people's thoughts on how a 2.1 Mackie system will/won't be an improvement upon my current 2.0 system?

2) Blue Sky Media Desk 5.1. At around $1000, it's in my price range. I'm a little concerned that it's a pro-sumer kind of product. Granted, I won't be mixing the next Star Wars movie. But can I get some good mileage out of a basic product like this? It's gotten good reviews...

3) Tannoy Reveal Active surround set (http://macmidimusic.com/prod.itml/icOid/6727). This is right at $2k -- the top of my budget.

4) (I'm almost too shy to mention this, but...) I do have a consumer surround system in my living room -- a $300 Kenwood from Best Buy that does have component surround inputs. I'm toying with the idea of going to the trouble of disconnecting it and moving it into the studio just to have my first taste of mixing in surround. Honestly -- I can't get any serious studio work done on it, can I?

5) Any other options within the price range gratefully considered.