R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Acoustic guitar ... M/S nearfield  (Read 4944 times)

Jørn Bonne

Acoustic guitar ... M/S nearfield
« on: October 01, 2004, 05:00:10 AM »

Hi everybody!
Thanks for your enjoyable and informative posts on the PSW forums.

Can anybody help me with this:
I am trying to record solo acoustic guitar with M/S mic setup, using distances from 15 inches to about 2 feet. I get a wonderfully spacious sound, unlike anything I've gotten using other setups. One problem though:
The sound stage comes out lopsided, with the left much stronger than the right, whether I use software M/S matrix or mixer to set it up. I have also tried a stereo mic with built in M/S matrix. Again the sound got pulled to the left.
I am new to M/S recording, but this left/right offset seems to be inherent to using M/S in the nearfield. Am I right?
What's a good way to get the left and right rebalanced, without loosing width and mono-compatibility? Any experienced M/S nearfielders out there with some good advice?

Thank you

J

Jørn Bonne

Re: Acoustic guitar ... M/S nearfield
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2004, 07:46:41 AM »

Roland,

Thanks for your suggestions.

I'm using multipattern LDC's, M-mic set to card (omni gives me too much room sound in my particular room).

I have tried different angles and positions in relation to the guitar top. Guitar is a Lowden steelstring by the way. I'd like to stay within about 2 feet distance in order not to get too much room sound.

In all my tests the strong left/weak right thing has been a problem I can't seem to get rid off. It's led me to think that this is inherent in the M/S nearfield technique (L=M+S; R=M-S). I have not seen this mentioned in any M/S literature I've read, so I may be wrong in assuming this.

Thank you.

J

jimmyjazz

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2004, 11:59:31 AM »