R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TFPro Any experiences?  (Read 2991 times)

zekmoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
TFPro Any experiences?
« on: September 21, 2004, 07:56:58 pm »

Anyone have any experiences with the TFPRO gear? Spefically the p5 and p8 compressors. I always wanted one of those JoeMeek SC2's and the p8 looks to be either the same or similar, outside of color. It's a little expensive for me, but I am interested in mostly a 2 track drum mix compressor, for rock type 4pc drums. Any thoughts on these?
Thanks
Bob
Logged
Bob
Not a downstroke, fistpicker.

Fletcher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3016
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2004, 11:28:30 am »

None what-so-ever... but from what I understand it's just Joe Meek stuff with a red faceplate.  FYI, Ted is no relation... neither here nor there, just mentioning it.
Logged
CN Fletcher

mwagener wrote on Sat, 11 September 2004 14:33
We are selling emotions, there are no emotions in a grid


"Recording engineers are an arrogant bunch.  
If you've spent most of your life with a few thousand dollars worth of musicians in the studio, making a decision every second and a half... and you and  they are going to have to live with it for the rest of your lives, you'll get pretty arrogant too.  It takes a certain amount of balls to do that... something around three"
Malcolm Chisholm

Vertigo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1334
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2004, 11:49:10 am »

The P2 looks tempting, I like the price. I wonder how it would sound in a 2-bus application...

Those Fletcher boys...

LOL!!!

-Lance

Logged

voidar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2004, 12:30:49 am »

I have been drooling at their 16X (it can be found under the US-site). There is remarkably very little information on it it seems. Anyone?
Logged

drumsound

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 638
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2004, 01:56:54 am »

Buy a used Meek SC2.2 for $4-500 and have fun...
Logged

zekmoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2004, 02:42:58 pm »

Thanks. Yea its like $1700 for the thing that looked like the sc2. I'll probably look for a used one somewhere.
Bob
Logged
Bob
Not a downstroke, fistpicker.

voidar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: TFPro Any experiences?
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2004, 03:25:51 pm »

I am looking for multiple input pres and TFpro are the only company doing 16 a rack. I could get a couple of 8 input pres like the JLM TMP8 when I can afford it of course. Basically, I want 16 inputs for my 16 ADDA.

The 16X is out of production actually and will become the M16 which actually has transformers. Might be a better unit. I heard there is some kind of bias agains TFpro around here, or generally. Perhaps it is accoutned for.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up