R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a Replacement for the Telefunken AC701k?  (Read 655 times)

blackacre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Real Full Name: Ryan Martin
Is there a Replacement for the Telefunken AC701k?
« on: November 13, 2021, 03:45:08 PM »

I have a Neumann m49b that has been acting up. My mic tech (Tom Onofrio) has diagnosed a few problems including the tube.

I have only been able to locate NOS AC701 tubes at insane prices, and with no guarantee or return, and am looking for options to get the mic working well.

I have an AKG C60 with an AC701k that works well and an AKG C0 with an AC701 (non k) that also works well.
Would it be viable to harvest one of those tubes for the M49b? I am open to other suggestions including after market tubes if any of them are good.
Logged

klaus

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1967
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2021, 04:07:25 PM »

In theory, transferring one of the two AC701 from your C60 to your M49 is perfectly fine, except that AKG cut the tube's filament wires in the C60 amp very short, so they will not reach the terminals on the M49 mic amp.

That means Tom would need to splice in extensions to the tube wires, which is labor intensive and requires meticulous heat sinking of each wire during soldering.

As prep for the operation, you could make sure that at least one of the tubes remains quiet over at least 48 hrs of continuous operation.
Logged
Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

blackacre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Real Full Name: Ryan Martin
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2021, 05:21:06 PM »

Thanks for the reply. Good to know that the plan may work even if it is a bit more difficult. One wrinkle I learned is that the c60 used a later ac701 that was a little smaller and this will be harder to find a replacement tube and it is a shame to take such a good mic out of commission.
Logged

klaus

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1967
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2021, 06:55:57 PM »

That is erroneous information. The AC701 had always had the same form factor/dimensions, from the start to the last one leaving the factory.
Logged
Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

blackacre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Real Full Name: Ryan Martin
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2021, 09:57:23 PM »

Good to know. I won’t name the specific vendor but that information came from an after market tube manufacturer that explained why their replacement tube would fit my m49 but not the c60. My original thought was to put the replacement tube in the c60 after so that both mics worked. Well the hunt continues.
Logged

klaus

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1967
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2021, 10:33:39 PM »

Not sure what you mean by "replacement" tube, because I am unaware that there is such thing.

The AC701 is unique- it was made by Telefunken specifically for condenser mics offered by three companies only. Any mic originally designed to be powered by that tube will either not work with a substitute tube, will need to have circuitry, cable or power supply modified to even function, and if these hurdles are overcome too, none of these mics will ever sound the same as those with the original AC701.

But I understand the temptation; when a tube costs a lot of money, people will search for, and suppliers will offer supposed substitutes.
That path and its poor results are amply demonstrated in the field of capsules: sourcing Neumann and AKG capsules has become expensive, so it is tempting to be lured by aftermarket "reskinning" offers. Never mind the inevitable loss of value or sound quality.





Logged
Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

blackacre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Real Full Name: Ryan Martin
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2021, 02:51:09 PM »

There are a few options marketed as drop in replacement tubes that don’t require circuit or power supply changes.

Drefahl Audio and Phaedrus Audio both make drop in replacements that I considered as a back up if only because even after finding an AC701, and spending a lot of money, the tube may not work, let alone be up to spec.

At this point we may be approaching the end of the era of these microphones as they were originally built. Unfortunately my M49 had an M7 capsule that is also shot like every other m7 at this point. Tom is going to switch to a K47 and I am going to frame the M7 in a display case.

Thanks for all your perspective and experience.
Logged

klaus

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1967
Re: ac701k replacement
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2021, 04:33:53 PM »

There are a few options marketed as drop in replacement tubes that don’t require circuit or power supply changes.
Drefahl Audio and Phaedrus Audio both make drop in replacements ...

Let's be clear: these are transistorized solid state devices that try to emulate the sound of tubes.
Logged
Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

blackacre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Real Full Name: Ryan Martin
Re: Is there a Telefunken AC701k Replacement?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2021, 07:21:05 PM »

So, not a tube, despite marketed as a tube. Frustrating.
Logged

Spindrift

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5
Re: Is there a Telefunken AC701k Replacement?
« Reply #9 on: Today at 02:09:11 AM »

So, not a tube, despite marketed as a tube. Frustrating.

You have a mic which is probably pushing northward of $15,000 in value. I wouldn’t bat an eye spending upwards of $1000 or a bit more for a NOS AC701 tube from a reputable source. Devaluing your vintage Neumann with an aftermarket “tube” is illogical.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 21 queries.