R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Studio - mic pre amp / AD conversion - Ozzie idiot from live fm  (Read 5740 times)

John Marsden

• Real Full Name: John Marsden
Studio - mic pre amp / AD conversion - Ozzie idiot from live fm
« on: September 29, 2017, 06:57:06 PM »

Hi,
This is a studio gear question. I'm self taught live sound guy (3yrs pubs and clubs), but now want to do some home studio recording. I originally posted this on the live sound LAB Lounge forum and it was sensibly suggested to post here.

I am querying the best Mic pre amp and A/D convertor to use with my microphones.

Budget is low moderate – 5 to 600 dollars with some wiggle room maybe...

Music to record will be gentle  solo  Indie Folk with some Ambient sound / fills distant in the background. Home studio covered in carpet and soft material (a genuine fire hazard but sounds great)

I'm in Australia

Mics I have Rode NT 1 and Rode NT2A
Rode M1 (used for gigging)
Shure 57 and 58 gigs / drums / instruments
Beyerdynamic TGV 50d – quite nice mic.

So nothing superfi but still okay I feel

Mixers
Midas MR18 – just got and love it.
The Midas preamps are noticeably nice when I mix live sound compared to the Yamaha.
Yamaha MG16 usb analogue but with 2 track USB
(And Zoom R16 used for quick stuff in rehearsals but even I think the preamps on it are noisy)
And I have Zoom H6 – used for live recording.

Current interface - A/D convertor
Presonus 1818 VSL

My question is how to get the best mic preamp and A/D conversion within budget.

If I buy a mic pre amp say a DBX 580 it still has to go through the Presonus or Midas or Yamaha to get onto the computer.