R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Pop Filters: Which Work? Which Suck? The Lowdown  (Read 26401 times)

Delete me

• SAG AFTRA Voice Actor/Musician
Re: Pop Filters: Which Work? Which Suck? The Lowdown
« Reply #30 on: June 15, 2020, 10:23:02 AM »

As a daily user of a pop filter, I made sure I followed Klaus advice on the color Black. I've been using the VAC 6 inch PopScreen for many years. Quite adjustable to accommodate your acoustic environment it works well. This pic shows ways to configure it.
A quik tip technique for singing or narrating is to smile and purse your lips on plosives. It's a part of a vocal talents arsenal of training for performance
http://www.popfilter.com/photos/adjust-comparison.jpg
Death is Certain. Fishing is Not!

Derek Samuel Reese

« Reply #31 on: June 26, 2020, 01:40:53 AM »

Initially the home made pop filter i made was great but after tracking vocals this evening i realized that the stocking didn't help my plosives ? tonight i was singing a little closer than i usually would and that could be the reason. But the s's and p words were very much over bearing.

klaus

« Reply #32 on: June 26, 2020, 02:49:52 AM »

Try the filter as the distancing device.
Rather than putting the popper stopper close to the mic (which inevitably makes you want to lean in, because the bass proximity effect is so enticing!), put it 6" from the front of the mic, and get close to that. A double layer of pantyhose at that distance from the mic should in most cases do the job.
Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

Delete me

• SAG AFTRA Voice Actor/Musician
« Reply #33 on: June 27, 2020, 10:44:37 AM »

+1 on the 6" distance. I typically am 6-12" or 1-2 fists away when working.
Death is Certain. Fishing is Not!

DanDan

• Real Full Name: Dan FitzGerald
« Reply #34 on: June 27, 2020, 05:28:08 PM »