R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TUBE SUGGESTIONS for U87 Modified By Innertube  (Read 6445 times)

marlonoreilly

• Real Full Name: Marlon O'Reilly
TUBE SUGGESTIONS for U87 Modified By Innertube
« on: February 02, 2015, 07:00:53 PM »

Hey All,

I am new to owning a U87. I bought a modified version. Sort of went in blind but I read a lot of reviews about a modded U87 before I bought it and thought it would be perfect. I got it into my studio and I must say it's not blowing me away. I did some more research after the fact and realized that it's not an authentic neumann Power Supply but now that I've done even more reading... unless I get a U67 power supply, Neumann didn't make a power supply for a U87 so an after market PS is all you can get.

My real reason for this post is to find out how to make sure this mic is working correctly and most importantly, WHICH TUBE IS THE BEST FOR THIS MIC? I read a post from 2002 post and it was awesome! I've come to think that the EF86 is the one. Or even the Valvo E80F. When I was reading Klaus's remarks about testing the voltage, I realized he must be talking about the U67 PS because there is no trim in my InnerTube Audio PS. So where does that leave me for testing it? Maybe I should just send it to Klaus? It actually has his name on the mic as the modifier: code# 0605

The good and the bad thing about this mic is that I sent the serial number into Neumann and they told me it's a Vintage 1971 U87. WOW!! The bad is: Why the HELL would anyone MESS with a vintage U87???
Marlon O'Reilly
Vancouver, BC, Canada
www.soundcloud.com/marlonoreilly

klaus

Re: TUBE SUGGESTIONS for U87 Modified
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2015, 07:35:48 PM »

Maybe I should just send it to Klaus? It actually has his name on the mic as the modifier