R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mic Producing Weird Sounds  (Read 2765 times)

stephengeorg

• Real Full Name: Stephen Georg
Mic Producing Weird Sounds
« on: January 27, 2015, 02:20:03 PM »

First off, I hope I have this in the right spot! It was a little difficult figuring out where exactly this topic belonged.

My name is Stephen Georg, and I produce YouTube content for a living. One of the channels I run is dedicated to game commentaries (commonly called "Let's Play" videos) where I play video games and commentate over them. I've been doing this for nearly 4 years now.

Our setup is extremely simple. We've been using Sennheiser PC 151 headsets plugged directly into the mic jack of the computer. If we have another person commentating (my wife frequently joins in), we simply use a splitter to plug two of the headsets into the mic jack. Certainly not the most elegant solution, but with some audio effects in post, it sounds pretty decent.

We've used this exact setup for all 4 years, and while the headsets occasionally short out (the cable for them is extremely thin), we've never run into a problem like the one I hit 2 weeks ago. After finishing a 2 hour recording session, I played it back to discover that a few minutes of the file contained pops, crackles, then an ever-increasing echo and distortion. It gradually gets worse, then better, until the problem goes away. In the nearly 2 1/2 hour recording, the oddity covered a 12 minute area.