R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: static frequency spectrum in vertical bars?  (Read 3984 times)

iprosoundweb

• Real Full Name: hello there
static frequency spectrum in vertical bars?
« on: January 17, 2015, 09:20:21 AM »

Hy, I'm a language teacher and I'm trying to visualize pitch changes in audio tracks for spoken sentences, in order to show the phrasal stress to my students.

For the moment, this is what I do :

using sonic visualiser, I'm using the pYin pluging (monophonic pitch and note tracking) from Matthias Mauch with stems as plot type. I'm doing this on an audio file which speed I have reduced by 60%. It shows me the "bumps" in the pitch. For some sentences this works fine, like this one :

http://fr.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=121ww76&s=8

but many times, I'm getting very hatched images, like this one :

http://fr.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=aag2vc&s=8

So I'm looking for a way to visualize the pitch in a different way, without white spaces between certain letters, f.ex. like a presentation in bars, like an equalizer :

http://fr.tinypic.com/view.php?pic=8ys7if&s=8

It doesn't have to be real-time analysis, I just want a static picture.
Can this be obtained by any means?

Any program which does the job is fine with me.
Thanks for your help...

Fletcher

Re: static frequency spectrum in vertical bars?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 02:53:36 AM »

Sorry, I didn't listen to any of the clips as I don't click on links from people with whom I've never shared a beverage [virus paranoid... what can I say].  I'm not quite sure what you're trying to accomplish with the graphics -- I mean absolutely no disrespect [ignorance of what you're trying to do perhaps, but absolutely no disrespect] -- won't they get the differences in pitch a whole lot easier by hearing them [vs. seeing them]?