R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Neumann U67 FET conversion back to original  (Read 5222 times)

Theo

• Real Full Name: Theo
Neumann U67 FET conversion back to original
« on: October 09, 2014, 11:13:16 PM »

My name is Theo,I am a Producer/engineer from South Africa.
Years ago I bought two Neumann U67 microphones from an engineer friend of mine. One of the microphones came original with the PSU included. The other microphone was converted to a FET version somewhere in the eighties. I bought it in this state with the hope of having it converted back to being a tube microphone , hopefully theres a way that can bring it back to the original sound of a U67? I am not that knowledgeable on microphone electronics, and would be very grateful if this forum could assist in suggesting what, in any, my options would be, as well as suggesting a suitable technician for repair?
I have included some photos for you of the FET. I do realise you know these microphones inside out, but  I've also included photos of the FET conversion next an original one just for easy reference for the sake of comparing what parts might be missing.
I would be grateful if this forum could assist me in finding a sollution.
Thank you so much for your time and assistance
All the best
THeo

polypals

• Real Full Name: Paul Kirchhoff
Re: Neumann U67 FET conversion back to original
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 05:48:33 PM »

As far as I can see from the pictures most typical components like the output transformer are still there.
That would make a reconstruction possible by a qualified engineer.
I wonder why the U67 was converted to FET technology. Even today there is no shortage of EF86 tubes produced by reputable companies like Telefunken, Mullard and Philips to name a few.

The EF86 in your tube U67 is probably a Mullard or Philips one.