R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The age old question - which mics?  (Read 6379 times)

gsherman

• Real Full Name: Gary Sherman
The age old question - which mics?
« on: August 29, 2013, 05:57:20 AM »

Hi - Looking for advice on which stereo set of microphone might best meet my needs.

Having been using Neumann KM184 stereo set I have decided that they just aren't giving me what I'm looking for. They seem to lose a lot of warmth in the lower mids (I hear the live sound and notice the difference on monitored sound and playback). I therefore consider either the DPA 4006 or the Schoeps CMC-62H my best options.

I'm just an amateur and I can't afford to have a wide selection of microphones so need something that will have the versatility to record most types of music at most any location. For outside work I use a Pearl MS8 in a Rycott, but indoors need something better.

I'm using a Nagra LB and record mostly choirs, organ recitals and orchestras.

While I think I will either go DPA or Schoeps, I have a nagging doubt about whether I should also consider the AKG 414 stereo set. They are very versatile and I've always been very happy with AKG in the past.

Would appreciate any thoughts you can share or advice you can offer.

Thanks

Gary

jaykadis

• R/E/P Forums
Re: The age old question - which mics?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 10:22:15 AM »

I've been using a pair of 4006s for years and have never had a bad recording from them. The new 414s are decent and more flexible in polar patterns, but don't quite get the accuracy of the 4006 in the omni setting. You might find the proximity effect of the 414 directional patterns to help with the low end, though.

gsherman

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 11:21:06 AM »

Thanks Jay.

Appreciate you taking the time to respond.