R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: advice for people starting up an analogue chain..  (Read 2597 times)

Joe_caithness

• Real Full Name: Joseph Caithness
advice for people starting up an analogue chain..
« on: March 17, 2013, 11:50:35 AM »

Hey,

This will upset audio/gear purists for impossible as ever reasons, but I am not an audio/gear purist, I am an audio engineer.

I recently demo'd a Lynx-One PCI AES in/out I bought for 50 quid (70 dollars I guess) post paid, off ebay.

I wanted to use the AES as you can daisy chain em and therefore have multiple AES on one clock.

I recorded some audio with the Benchmark DAC1 feeding chain, all gear pushed in, but doing nothing, into my Mytek AD96. Various bits and bobs.

I was skeptical, but like, yeah if I can get something for little money which does the job, why not? I am a sole trading businessman looking to make as much money out of the same quality work and service.

To my surprise somewhat, it sounded great, infact on some stuff, better than the benchmark, which compared to source, sounded a little too nice/warmed up.

STOP: we're talking converters, this is subtle. I know Benchmark is good, I am listening through one now.. anyway continue.

So, I have this Cambridge Audio DACMagic plus which I had a few issues with, cool unit in theory, not so much in practice. I thought, hey maybe stick the LYNX DA in the analogue loop, dont use the AD, and keep stuff going through my Mytek? Aight... and that leaves the benchmark, which it's robust and well calibrated controls to be constantly handled when I'm changing monitoring levels.

So not only did I practically (in the literal sense) upgrade my actual mastering rig, I also got the old M Audio Cards and Cambridge and stuck em on ebay, and the money I get for them has secured a deposit on a tour van for my band to tour Europe in August.

SO