R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: phantom image with loudspeaker array  (Read 3486 times)

chepotenza

• Real Full Name: Frederick Bulsara
phantom image with loudspeaker array
« on: January 24, 2013, 10:39:45 AM »

Hello everybody,
I am a newbie, I hope I am addressing the correct post.

I have a loudspeaker array of 4 small speakers (each one as big as a Rubik's cube), linearly equally spaced by 2 cm (0.8 inches). I would like to play a sound source (pink noise) from the first to the last speakers, to give the illusion of a moving sound source.

One trivial solution would be, for right-to-left movement:
0 0 0 1 at time t
0 0 1 0 at time t+n
0 1 0 0 at time t+2n
1 0 0 0 at time t+3n

But this obviously gives me the impression of sound "jumping" from one speaker to the following.

Another solution would be updating the intensities twice more frequently:

0 0 0 1
0 0 0.5 0,5
0 0 1 0
0 0.5 0.5 0
0 1 0 0
0.5 0.5 0 0
1 0 0 0

but I am not sure it is the correct way.

The question is: which sound intensity should I set the speakers so that the sound is "smootlhy" perceived as moving?
I guess this is related to how to create a phantom image.
Please help!

Thanks a lot!

Fletcher

Re: phantom image with loudspeaker array
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 08:51:53 AM »

While I have no idea why you would want to do such a thing... it would seem that your first scenario would give you more of a "jumping" effect while your second scenario would give you a smoother transition between the boxes.

My guess is that you're planning to automate this in some way... if that is indeed the plan then you'd want an automated switching system for the first plan... and perhaps some kind of "4 way panning" system for the second plan.