R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Current Buffer Unity Gain Opamp  (Read 6599 times)

Blackfish_ArdRi

• Real Full Name: James D Mullen
Current Buffer Unity Gain Opamp
« on: January 26, 2013, 12:36:51 AM »

Hello all!
First Let me say that I have very little experience in electronic circuit deign. My education did not include IC studies (unfortunately).
The problem:
I have a console with outputs of 150 ohms, they are intended to drive a 600 ohm load.
These outputs I would like to use as the monitor path going into a passive controller (attenuator and a/b/c switch, mute/mono) selecting between multiple monitors.
The controllers inputs are 10k ohm.
In order to use this passive device, I need to construct a device that raises the consoles output impedance into an acceptable range for the controller. I have been told this circuit is a unity-gain opamp current buffer. Correct me on the name, as that may help my research! :)
Can anyone point me to a circuit diagram or reference material for this type of device?
Thank you
James Mullen
NEP-Sweetwater

radardoug

• Real Full Name: Doug Jane
Re: Current Buffer Unity Gain Opamp
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2013, 03:45:32 PM »

You don't need to do anything, just connect them together. If the console outputs are transformer, you could terminate them by putting a 600 ohm resistor across each transformer output. Otherwise it will work fine. It is what is called a bridging connection.

Blackfish_ArdRi

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2013, 04:35:53 PM »

thank you sir! I thought they would act as a bridging impedance, but they are transformer outputs, so the signal from the passive controller was lacking low frequency. I used a 600 ohm resistive load from a line isolating 1:1 transformer. worked. appreciate the help.

John Roberts {JR}

• Real Full Name: John Roberts
  • 10,000+
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2013, 11:32:48 AM »