R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tube mic - how long does a tube last?  (Read 11043 times)

PaulGasztold

• Real Full Name: Paul Gasztold
Tube mic - how long does a tube last?
« on: October 17, 2012, 07:54:44 PM »

How long does a tube last?

My Telefunken AK47 has a miniature tube

I need the mic to be on most of the day, 5 days
a week

I am a vocal coach by trade and often record
and play back the Singer's tracks during lessons
throughout the day

I end up using solid state condensor mics more often
because I don't want to 'wear down' the tube in my AK47

How soon would the tube in the mic need to be replaced
if I left it one 40 hours a week?

What would the tube replacement cost be?

Is it an issue?   Or is there another way to look at it?

Currently I pull out the tube mic for 'important' sessions
but would love to leave it on 40 hours a week 45 weeks a year

Insights are appreciated.

thanks

klaus

Re: Tube mic - how long does a tube last?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 08:38:19 PM »

In a well designed and maintained tube mic system, the tube can last for years or decades.

Varying factors:

* tube brand/origin (if the tube is of Chinese, Eastern-European or Russian origin, all bets are off)
* strict adherence to factory-recommended power supply voltages, with yearly checks/adjustments
* careful physical handling, avoiding mechanical shock to mic or tube
* proper ventilation/cooling in warm operating environments

Klaus Heyne
German Masterworks®
www.GermanMasterworks.com

Kai

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 02:25:35 AM »

My Telefunken AK47 has a miniature tube

I need the mic to be on most of the day, 5 days.
How soon would the tube in the mic need to be replaced if I left it one 40 hours a week?
I have some experience with tube wear, although obviously much less then Klaus.