R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to Push the 512c without distoring the next stage...  (Read 7267 times)

Topslakr

• Real Full Name: Robert Woulfe
How to Push the 512c without distoring the next stage...
« on: October 09, 2012, 09:07:52 PM »

I'm curious. I have no direct experience with API gear but I've read that the API pre-amp really opens up with it's pushed. (For instance: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/aug07/articles/classictracks_0807.htm) Is that true? Do others have experience that would agree or disagree?

Assuming that is true, does that apply to the 512c in a 500 Rack?

If it does, how does one then manage the resulting quite hot level coming out of the Pre-amp? In the linked story, they just pulled back the output fader to reduce the level before hitting tape. I am developing a studio around an older inline console (Don't laugh.. it's a Tascam M3700). Is the level going to be too hot for me to use the line in on the console and then use the output fader before hitting tape/DAW? Some distortion or harmonics from the API gear may sound pleasing but I'd prefer not to then also overdrive the console.

How do others manage this? Is it a simple case of then hitting a compressor to reduce the level back to something more in line with your recording medium? Is the resulting level from a pushed 512c not hot enough to be an issue? In a lot of situations I want to do something to the signal that will screw up the gain staging further down the line, what tricks are being used to mange that?

Thanks for any input!

My background: Weekend warrior, though I did attend school for recording a few years back. I ran a small recording studio a but having moved and bought a house, I'm back into the planning stages for a similar small recording studio. Beyond my day job, I am a paid sound person at my local church.

Jim Williams