R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Starting all over again...  (Read 7203 times)

Michaelrophones

• Real Full Name: Michael McNally
Starting all over again...
« on: July 10, 2012, 07:50:48 PM »

Hey everyone,

apologies if this thread is in the wrong place. I thought I'd just be polite and introduce myself before I start delving in.

I've wanted to post on ProSoundWeb for a long time (like 5 years) but I've kinda shied away from it for fear of looking like a know-nothing dick in front of everyone!

My background is, that I had a real passion for music and went onto a music production course (the same as a friend I have on here from Newcastle) and did pretty well. I think the problem with having done that is that we were taught to express ourselves creatively, but graded on conforming (ugh, I know *cringe*) to what was seen as industry standard. Naturally I wanted to do well and really got into the habit of using technology to take short cuts, and 2 years down the line I was 'writing' songs by using the pencil tool in Reason.

After I graduated I felt like I'd learned a lot, but had really spent a huge amount of money on situations and deadlines to work within rather than learning many cool techniques or really learning truly useful information.

I got a job in a studio, then the recession happened and they couldn't afford to keep me, so I put off music for a bit and worked abroad, I came back home and ended up having to sell all my gear to pay bills.