R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: AKG C12 with dull sounding capsule  (Read 13984 times)

Warren Huck

AKG C12 with dull sounding capsule
« on: July 04, 2012, 09:13:57 AM »

Hi there, I am a pro audio repairer and have a very old AKG C12 in the workshop at the moment. The mic was originaly dead, I traced this fault back to the centre wire on the capsule as it had broken off (seems like an odd thing to happen). There is a reasonable but not excessive amount of debris on the front of the capsule and the rear of the capsule is very clean. When I sound tested the mic I found that the rear capsule sounds great and the front capsule sounds dull. I have succesfully cleaned mics such as the U87 mics before (with water only) and wondered if this mic would respond to a clean or if there is something else going on there. The owner is nervous about having the capsule cleaned as it is very old and very special to him. Have you come across this sort of thing before and what do you suggest as a cure ?
Regards, Warren Huck
Regards, Warren Huck

klaus

Re: AKG C12 with dull sounding capsule
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 12:43:37 PM »

Diaphragm contamination would need to be extreme to cause severe loss of high frequency.

When a CK12 acts up that extremely, like you describe, my first suspicion is loss of diaphragm tension. This could be visually determined:

With the head basket off and the mic turned on (no audio) and set to cardioid (and, later repeating the test, to figure of eight), blow breath onto the diaphragm at a very close distance.
Viewing under a strong light: does the diaphragm come back quickly to the resting position, or does it stay sucked against the backplate? If the latter, you have the answer why there is no high end.

Electrostatic backplate suck can have two causes: