R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My new room  (Read 6118 times)

aleatoric

• Real Full Name: Mark Trewella
My new room
« on: April 20, 2012, 01:15:25 PM »

Twerk asked about my new room in Allen Corneau "Website is up" thread.  Instead of driving Allen's thread off topic I figured I'd make a new thread. 

Going off topic...

I just noticed the pic of your new room, Mark. How are you adjusting?

It's amazing.  I've been working in my new spot for about 2 months now.  Obviously a new room brings on a bit of an adjustment period but I love it in here, it already feels like home. 

The room is pretty large.  About 31' length, 14' width and 10' height. 

One huge plus is I can now work around the clock (i.e. 2am if I choose) which is hard to find in a city.  The studio is essentially detached from all adjacent dwelling and the construction is newly renovated with 5/8" sheetrock being used throughout.  The door pictured to the right is a solid core double door setup with a 10" air gap between the two doors that leads into my yard (then there is a gate that leads to the street).

Some other nice amenities are a extremely quiet central air/heat system, a dedicated outlet for my equipment and track lighting, which I just installed a remote control dimmer for.  The studio is located in probably the most musician dense neighbor of Philadelphia; Northern Liberties.  I feel very fortunate to have found this place but at the same time I had been looking for the right spot for well over a year.   

Lots of people have asked me about the floor.  It's wood, plywood to be exact.  When I moved in the floor was an ugly foam green looking color so I painted it grey.  I guess it kinda looks like concrete or something do to that but it's wood with a basement underneath (which is mine).