R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Mastering Engineers seemingly under attack in online forums  (Read 8286 times)

Infrasonic Sound

• Real Full Name: Pete Lyman
Re: Mastering Engineers seemingly under attack in online forums
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2011, 11:16:33 PM »

Just not wondering.

Agreed. I haven't heard anyone outside of Internet Land discuss this...at lease not enough to care. While I'm not caring, can I include post about the "Loudness Wars" as well?

Pete Lyman
Infrasonic Mastering

Paradox Uncreated

• Real Full Name: Ove Karlsen
« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2012, 03:19:31 PM »

I think that a lot of "online mastering engineers" are not fit for the task. I did a post looking for mastering on gearslutz, and about 10 "engineers" contacted me, providing a sample master, of a sample I provided. NONE of them were good. I also contacted some local online services, where one returned a sample master, which was useless.
My thoughts go to one guy who has a lot of gear and plugins. He also think he does "mastering" sometimes, but you know, he thinks the plugins will do the magic, or putting it randomly through some analog gear will add magic or something. Atleast he doesn`t quite get the right sound.

And that was kinda the one guy all these "me"s were. Swimmy analog stuff, even I told them "only digital". Not that good sounding EQ, and not all loudness EQ, which really is what mastering these days is all about. And none of them pushed the dynamics to current levels.

Before this I thought mastering engineers mostly took the audio to the level and frequencyresponse of modern popmasters. But it turned out, I could do this much better on my own. They had no expertise, over my own. And even if they sat in corrected specially designed rooms, with exorbiantly expensive speakers, that did them no good.