R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Taking delivery of our New (old) SSL today!  (Read 20151 times)

kats

Re: Taking delivery of our New (old) SSL today!
« Reply #45 on: January 22, 2011, 05:35:39 PM »

ssltech wrote on Wed, 12 January 2011 10:26

SSL's?

Good lord, I loathe those things. -They sound just terrible. -You can't make ANYTHING sound good on them!

-They kill music, in fact.

I'm really digging the sound of this thing so far. Obviously your being facetious, but I don't get all the ragging on these boards. Now I've never used some of the old classics before but I think this thing sounds fantastic. There a certain forwardness and presence I'm beginning to recognize, but I still find it open sounding. I wonder if the smaller frame size makes any difference in that regard.

http://empirerecording.ca/sslchair.jpg
Tony K.
http://empirerecording.ca

Entertainment is a bore, communication is where it's at! - Brian Jones 1967

delcosmos

« Reply #46 on: January 22, 2011, 06:15:08 PM »

Congratulations Tony,

This is funny because we are also installing right now 2 "New-old" 4000G+'s, one is a 4048G+ and the second one is a 4040G+

Ross Alexander is in charge of the decommission-commission job.

He's calibrating everything and service them right now.

I also moved my Duality to my "Production room" so... we are a cable jungle right now!

Best regards.

delcosmos.

compasspnt

« Reply #47 on: January 22, 2011, 06:38:17 PM »

kats wrote on Tue, 18 January 2011 10:54

Oh and a tip of the hat to Terry. My speaker stands were too short for the console and I had remembered his "PVC sewer pipe stand filled with sand" trick and they worked perfectly. I capped both ends with the matching sewer stops which conveniently had screw holes to screw into MDF bases that I bought. Some black spray paint and viola! Brilliant.

GREAT, this makes my day.