R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Computer for Samplitude  (Read 2096 times)

C.Potter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Computer for Samplitude
« on: January 01, 2011, 01:07:46 pm »

Just wanted to ask some Samplitude 11 owners advice about a decent pc computer
that i need to purchase. This would be for mastering only.
I have been running the program for the last year on a mac  that main purpose
is for protools and want to dedicate Samplitude to it's own pc. Don't need the latest ,
greatest setup as the track count is minimal but want to get an idea of a stable ,
economical setup from the ones with experience.

Thanks for you help.

chris

mastertone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 02:01:01 pm »

Hi Chris!

I just got a new box a few months ago, i went with this:
Intel Core i7 860 2,80GHz
Gigabyte - GA-P55A-UD3
Gigabyte - ATI Radeon HD 5450
OCZ DDR3 Gold Edition
Case - Antec Performance One P183

Samp 11pro, win7 - Rock solid!

Logged
Jonas Ekstrom
Mastertone Mastering
www.mastertone.se

C.Potter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 01:20:17 am »

So ... do i have to go to this level of pc to make Samplitude happy ?
Please bear with me as i am an 8 core mac user and crossing over to the other side !!!
What are some of you other ME's using for a computer with this software ?

chris

Thomas W. Bethel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1811
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 08:46:55 am »

C.Potter wrote on Sun, 02 January 2011 01:20

So ... do i have to go to this level of pc to make Samplitude happy ?
Please bear with me as i am an 8 core mac user and crossing over to the other side !!!
What are some of you other ME's using for a computer with this software ?

chris




In a word "YES" especially if you use it for multi tracks.

I run a quad core Intel processor, NVIDIA video card, 4 gigs of memory, all SATA 3 drives computer since we also use this computer for video.

Today a really good rig will go for about $1400 to $2000 if you build it yourself.

Best of luck!
Logged
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

jdg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 950
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 01:57:52 pm »

i have a 3yr old duocore (single proc) with 2GB of ram, for my samp computer.

works outstanding.

i just use it for capturing and final digital limiting.

Logged
john mcCaig
-Mothery Earworks Clarifold Audipure

mastermind

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 346
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 07:51:11 pm »

Until Jan 2009 I was running Sequoia 8 on a Dual P3 866 Mhz....

I then built a quad core machine, 2 GHz, 8GB or ram (I think)...  with an AZUS motherboard in a rackmount chassis..

Sequoia ran great on the PIII... but it's a little snappier on the new machine. If I'm using a couple plugs, it's a fair bit snappier....

I've been thinking of upgrading to Sequoia 11 and at the same time installing Win7 on a solid state drive.

t

Logged
trevor sadler
_________________________________________
mastermindproductions
mastermind on facebook
charlotte, nc., usa

OTR-jkl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 869
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2011, 10:16:12 am »

I'd been running Samp Pro v9 (for mastering only) on a 2.8G P4 w/2G RAM under XP Pro with stellar results - until the 7 yr old PC died in early Dec.

I just bought a new box from Velocity Micro - the Holiday Edition. I threw a few upgrades in there such as an i5-760 CPU and cooler, Win7 Pro 64bit and ATI Radeon HD6850 graphics. Cost me $1150. I'm sure the basic version ($900) would handle Samp easily but I wanted a box that would be somewhat current in a few years.

I've been spending the holidays slowly transferring drives, files, etc from the old box to the new so I don't quite have it up and running yet but that should happen this week.

I bet I'll be pleased...
Logged
J Lowes ยท OTR Mastering
Professional Audio Production for Life
www.ShoutLife.com/OTRMastering

C.Potter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2011, 01:49:29 pm »

Thanks everyone.
This is just the info i was looking for.

chris

Tubefreak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2011, 03:34:03 pm »

mastertone wrote on Sat, 01 January 2011 20:01


Case - Antec Performance One P183



Got it as well and is a killer case. Put it high on your priority list if you want the PC to be silent!

Maarten

mastertone

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
Re: Computer for Samplitude
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2011, 04:16:05 pm »

Tubefreak wrote on Mon, 10 January 2011 21:34

mastertone wrote on Sat, 01 January 2011 20:01


Case - Antec Performance One P183



Got it as well and is a killer case. Put it high on your priority list if you want the PC to be silent!

Maarten



Yes! It is very silent! And the internal layout is great too!
Logged
Jonas Ekstrom
Mastertone Mastering
www.mastertone.se
Pages: [1]   Go Up