R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 14 songs, 48 tracks on Pro Tools HD...How much time would you take for quality?  (Read 3887 times)

hoovie87

This is my first time posting on here, so hopefully this is the right area.

I am an audio engineer at a church and a couple of weeks ago we had a praise night.  It is about 90 minutes (14 songs) of straight worship music plus a little talking.  All of the night was recorded down to tracks on Pro Tools HD.  There's about 48 tracks.  These include band, orchestra, choir, etc.  The reason it was recorded is that I am working on a praise night CD for everyone to buy before Christmas.  It was recorded straight off the pre amps of our D Show system.

Now, the question I have for all of you people out there is how long would you normally take to fully mix and master a CD to the best of your ability?  I was given about three weeks to do it along with most of my normal duties and FOH mixing.  I've expressed many times how it's just not possible to get it out that quickly.  As an engineer I want to put out a quality CD, but everyone seems to like instant products.  So, if you were to be put in a situation where you had to mix 14 songs individually, then master them along with lots of other things you are already responsible for at work...then what kind of time frame would you normally expect for a quality product?  I think we took months of work and crammed it into a few weeks.  Quality is going to suffer big time.

Feel free to ask me more about it if you need more details.

Thanks everyone!

grantis

If I had the luxury of giving such a project my undivided attention, I would feel comfortable getting it done in 10-12 days.

"Other responsibilities" taking time away and dividing my brain would drastically lengthen the project.  3 weeks would be cutting it close.
Grant Craig
Nuovo Music (Me)
Skiddco Music (Where I work)