R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: copied post from JP....  (Read 2113 times)

j.hall

copied post from JP....
« on: August 23, 2004, 10:20:32 AM »

JP posted this in B-rad's forum

i wanted to add it down here in the hopes to help some people.

his technique is by far not a "trick", but something a lot of mixers overlook.

here is his post:

I'm no mastering engineer either, but as a mixer, i lowpass a LOT of tracks on a given mix. Many instruments, especially heavy guitars, can get nasty up above 10k or so. Aggressive vocals can sound better with the extreme top rolled off as well. Leaves room for other tracks that need extended top, such as airy vocals or drum OH's. That way, if so desired, the mastering engineer can boost a top shelf above 10k without worrying about bringing up nasty artifacts. Ditto on the low end as well, highpass anything that doesn't need to be down there with the kick and bass. It's all useless energy to me.

j.hall

Re: copied post from JP....
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2004, 10:23:26 AM »

JP, this might be a LAME piece of gear for any mixer trying to achieve a "good looking" rack of gear.

but the rocktron "hush" is a piece designed for guitar players.

i took one from a buddy that was literally throwing it away.

it's a noise reduction units.....basically a soft gate, but the catch is, it's frequency dependent on the high end.

when program dips below it's threshold it will drop the highs to whatever roll off point you set the LPF to.

i use it all the time on noisey tracks that need to "stay noisy" while playing, but i need the noise to tapper off naturally.  hard to do with fader automation or straight mutes.

Rivers

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2004, 11:44:12 AM »

Hmmm,
Thats interesting.
I use HPF all the time but have always been shy on using the LPF to that extreme.
I will have to try it on some mixes.
Smell the Magic