R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Beesneez Jade  (Read 9985 times)

jetbase

Beesneez Jade
« on: October 11, 2010, 07:12:06 PM »

These are my impressions so far of a Beesneez Producer Series ‘Jade’ tube mic with a K7 capsule (NOT the K47 capsule) which I have been using for a couple of months.

Overall, it is a reasonably natural sounding mic with a nice sense of depth, & it’s quite versatile. It certainly has the potential to be an all-rounder, if that’s what you wanted. The areas of ‘colouration’ I found to be in the very low mids (or is it high bass?) where you might want to reduce it a little if you were using this mic on various sources on the same song, and also around 2kHz where there seemed to consistently be a little ‘hardness’ that I found I often wanted to dip a little. But other than that it sounds quite even & low frequencies came across solid & tight, which made it excellent for bass guitar. You could certainly get away with minimal or no eq on this mic providing you had the source & mic placement right.

This mic seemed to want to hear loud sources. It was almost as if the louder the source the better the Jade was it capturing it. I have found with some mics that when you really push them it brings out their bad qualities, but the Jade never got harsh or screechy or brittle, it was smooth all the way through. On the flipside, if a vocal was a bit soft or once you got a bit of distance from it the tendency was to sound a bit thin. I’m actually not 100% sure on this aspect of the mic & I think I need a bit more experience with it to confirm my impressions. Also, ideally, I would have liked the midrange to have been a little more ‘forward’, but perhaps not if it’s at the expense of other favourable characteristics.

Here are some more specific observations: