R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Royer R-101  (Read 4940 times)

MrJoshua

Royer R-101
« on: September 28, 2010, 08:53:15 AM »

Standard Disclaimer:  I'm a home studio guy.  I am not a pro.  I spend a lot of time playing and recording music and take on the occasional paying project but I don't have anything close to the experience a lot of guys here have.  So, as always, take this review as what it is - my opinions and impressions.  Feel free to disagree with any or all of it.

Now, the review...

I recently purchased a Royer R-101 ribbon mic.  It arrived in an aluminum case containing the mic and shock-mount plus the standard padding, along with a mic bag, a CD with the full instruction manual and a printed quick-start guide.  On taking the mic out of the case, the first impression was ... well, it feels like a mic.  Solid, weighty, with what appears to be solid construction and a nice finish.  I noticed that the grille of the mic is much more solid than on other ribbons I own.  You can't see through the grille, even when holding it up to the light.  The literature with the mic indicates that this is to help protect the mic from harmful wind bursts.  Interestingly, the quick start guide also lists kick drum as a potential use for this mic, but I chickened out at the thought of putting this mic on the kick so I'm afraid you'll get no review of that usage here.