R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Prism Sound MLA-2 Attack Times  (Read 9586 times)

Bender Mastering

Prism Sound MLA-2 Attack Times
« on: September 22, 2010, 03:11:59 PM »

Hello everyone,

I've been using the Prism Sound MLA-2 (latest revision) for a couple of months now. I'm still getting used to the unit but overall I'm glad that I bought it.

I do have a question regarding the unit attack times... The MLA-2 is an optical compressor as far as I know of and the unit displays attack times of 0.005, 0.020, 0.100, 0.50, 1.0 and 1.5 ms! The first thing that came to my mind was that the values must be wrong because with these values the MLA-2 would be faster than a UA 1176, and it sure doesn't sound like a fast attacking compressor!!

I've read the manual and then I've noticed that the attack times are measured in milliseconds per dB, not just milliseconds which is how most compressors measure attack and release times.

So how does this milliseconds per dB relate to normal attack times? Is there anyway to estimate how fast this unit really is without measuring it?

Thank you,

urm eric

Re: Prism Sound MLA-2 Attack Times
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2010, 03:40:51 PM »

Bender Mastering wrote on Wed, 22 September 2010 14:11

Hello everyone,

I've been using the Prism Sound MLA-2 (latest revision) for a couple of months now. I'm still getting used to the unit but overall I'm glad that I bought it.

I do have a question regarding the unit attack times... The MLA-2 is an optical compressor as far as I know of and the unit displays attack times of 0.005, 0.020, 0.100, 0.50, 1.0 and 1.5 ms! The first thing that came to my mind was that the values must be wrong because with these values the MLA-2 would be faster than a UA 1176, and it sure doesn't sound like a fast attacking compressor!!