R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Tape emulation- ampex 456 at 15 ips  (Read 40310 times)

Signal

Tape emulation- ampex 456 at 15 ips
« on: August 13, 2004, 03:34:38 PM »

Basically I need to emulate the sound of Ampex 456 tape at 15 ips, it was requested by the artist and I think it's appropriate for the recording, but I do not have access to such facilities. Is there any software based way to simulate this? I dont just mean magneto or something- unless someone knows how to set it up to achieve this kind of sound. Anyone have experience with both analog and digital to help me? ??

I can't go outboard to actual tape, I'm a very knowledgable programmer, I just dont know what kind of physics go into tape "sound".  any helpful discussion of the matter (maybe a tape sim with eq could bring about similar characteristics?)  I really just need someone with enough knowlege of tape physics.  

Thank you all, you're all very kind and knowledgable. =)

-Signal

bobkatz

Re: Tape emulation- ampex 456 at 15 ips
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2004, 04:45:01 PM »

Dear Signal: To my ears, you can get sonic results indistinguishable from analog tape but without the hiss, using the Cranesong HEDD-192 (outboard box). Cranesong has a plugin now, but I have not listened to it or tested it.